Thoughts For Food

Insights into the Mind of a Culinary School Student

Life in the CIA: A Look Back


Well, here we are. I’ve started my last class as an Associate’s Student here at the CIA. Come March 23rd, I can call myself an alumnus of the school…until I come back in June for Bachelors. But that’s another story.

This journey I began a little over 2 years ago is almost done. Over those two years, I have progressed so far and learned so much. I’m certainly not the same person I was when I began. I was scared first starting out, but at the same time, I was certain that this was the correct move to make at this part in my life. I wanted to ensure that I did all I could to combine my love of food and love of writing a reality. It’s been a rough road filled with many hardships and a setback or two, but here I am, so close to the end.

I’ve met some incredible people and some wonderful chefs along the way and I am so thankful that I have. I’m, thankful for all the lessons I’ve learned and all the skills and recipes that I’ve acquired. I look forward to continuing my education when I return in June, thought the break will be nice and may I add, well-deserved.

I’ll keep this short for now. I hope to end on a positive note!

Author: NJ_Chef

A graduate of the Culinary Institute of America and aspiring food-writer. 28-year old chef, blogger, eSports fan, gamer, jack-of-all-trades and master of none.

Comments are closed.