Thoughts For Food

Insights into the Mind of a Culinary School Student

Life in the CIA: Externship Update


Hey guys! Sorry it’s been so long since my last update. I’ve been super busy at work. Why don’t I give you an update?

I work 5 days: Monday – Friday, starting at 7:30AM and ending whenever I get done, basically. Usually I finish my day’s projects bay around 3 or 4 in the afternoon, but lately it’s gotten so busy that I don’t finish until about 5PM. I get a lot done in that time and trust me, it’s a TON of work to get done. First thing I have to take care of when I arrive? Bread. I am in charge of baking bread for both the store and the Inn. It’s a hefty order, but it’s good practice for me. Bread has its own certain charm to it, haha.

The rest of my to-do list can encompass just about anything. I have no idea what I’m in for until I get there (besides the bread, of course). It can be anything from muffins to tarts, sweet doughs to specialty desserts. You name it. For example, today I made three different muffin recipes: Lemon Crumb Muffins, Blueberry Muffins and Cinnamon Coffee Cake Muffins. On the surface, it looks easy. Only three muffin batches, right? Well, you have to take into account prep, scaling, ingredients, etc. It took a while to get everything set up and mixed. Luckily, they all had the same exact baking time and baking temperature. So, once they were all mixed, the actual baking didn’t take that much time at all. Lucky me, huh?

Outside of that, there’s always the little things that need to get done, like dishes, cleaning, sweeping, taking out the trash, etc. Can’t work in a dirty kitchen, now can you? That’s pretty much how it’s been ever since I got here and started working. On occasion, the Inn will have a major event or a dinner and I’ll have to help out and plate the desserts we worked so hard to come up with. Now THAT is quite the experience. There’s nothing quite like trying to put together something intricate and delicate, quickly, while still keeping EXACTLY how it was when we plated it the first time. No easy task, I can assure you, but with practice, it does become easier. I’d say I have a good feel of the workflow now that I’ve been here a while. You need a good amount of skill and patience to work in this industry, but I’ll save that particular rant for another entry.

That’s all for now! I’ll try and update more frequently!

Author: NJ_Chef

A graduate of the Culinary Institute of America and aspiring food-writer. 28-year old chef, blogger, eSports fan, gamer, jack-of-all-trades and master of none.

Comments are closed.