Thoughts For Food

Insights into the Mind of a Culinary School Student

Recipe: Basil Pesto


Made this myself for dinner last night!

Hello everyone! I’m back with another recipe. This time, it’s one I thought of on my own and it’s really simple to make, despite the cost of some of the ingredients. I visited Rome, Italy a few years ago and that was my first experience with Pesto. It was so delicious and fresh that I wanted to make it at home. Well it took me a while but I finally did manage to make my very own batch and believe me when I say that it is DELICIOUS and extremely simple to make.

Basil Pesto

Ingredients:

  • One pack of Fresh Basil (available at many mega-marts)
  • One pack of Pine Nuts (also available at many mega-marts)
  • 1.5 Cups of Olive Oil
  • Heavy Pinch of Grated Romano Cheese
  • 4 – 5 Cloves of Garlic
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Small pinch of Oregano or Rosemary

Hardware:

  • Blender
  • Half Sheet Pan
  • Spatula
  1. Spread out the Pine Nuts on the sheet pan and toast at 400-degrees until lightly browned. Keep a watchful eye on these guys. They burn easy.
  2. Add all other ingredients into the blender and then add the Pine Nuts when they’re done.
  3. Blend the whole thing until smooth.
  4. Pour over your favorite pasta dish or meat dish and serve!

How simple was that? This dish literally takes no time at all to make and it’s a ready-to-eat sauce that requires almost no cooking! And as I briefly mentioned, pasta isn’t the only thing Pesto can be paired with. It goes really well with meats as well! Enjoy!

Author: NJ_Chef

A graduate of the Culinary Institute of America and aspiring food-writer. 28-year old chef, blogger, eSports fan, gamer, jack-of-all-trades and master of none.

Comments are closed.