Thoughts For Food

Insights into the Mind of a Culinary School Student

Food Bites: Results of my Stage


A while ago, I posted an entry about the importance of a stage and how it could very well net you a job if you played your cards right. Well, I am happy to report that I did indeed get the job I did the stage for. It’s the Southfield Store in Southfield, MA so if you’re in the area, feel free to stop by!

My day started at 8:30AM on the nose. I met with Chef Perreault right away. She presented me with a list of what she wanted done that day, a recipe and ingredients list for each product and then proceeded to give me a tour of the place. It’s a really nice cafe/bakery, albeit a tad far removed from any nearby towns. Heck, my Blackberry had no signal at all while I was in Southfield. But that really didn’t matter much. As soon as the tour was over, she showed me to my station and my work day began. The work was very straight forward and simple enough. I was in full production mode and loving every minute of it. It’s funny. Every chef I’ve had at the CIA so far (with the exception of one) has said that working quietly and with no background music or noise will result in a better product and more focused workers. But, chef had the radio going all day and I found myself singing along to songs as I was working, with no ill effects. I felt right at home in that kitchen.

I worked from 8:30AM straight until 3:30PM stopping for only a quick break for lunch. At the end of the day, chef pulled me aside and took me into her office. She thanked me for stopping in to work. She was really impressed by my overall attitude and my work ethic and said that she’d love foe me to spend my externship there. I could barely contain my excitement. So, here I am, back home in NJ for now as I search for apartments in MA and waiting for the call to battle, as it were.

To anyone going in for a stage, I can give you these tips:

  • Be friendly
  • Work quickly and diligently
  • DO NOT be afraid to ask questions
  • Double check your recipes and make sure everything is scaled properly before you proceed
  • HAVE FUN (cannot stress this point enough)

Good luck to all of you who are searching for jobs of internships now!

Author: NJ_Chef

A graduate of the Culinary Institute of America and aspiring food-writer. 28-year old chef, blogger, eSports fan, gamer, jack-of-all-trades and master of none.

Comments are closed.