Thoughts For Food

Insights into the Mind of a Culinary School Student

Food Bites: Snack Time

1 Comment


Taken from Google Image Search

Midnight Snacks. Late-night Cravings. The Munchies. Gamer Fuel. No matter what you call them, everyone gets them at some point. It’s a craving for just something small (or large for some people) to eat or munch on. Not a large meal like lunch or dinner. Just something to nibble on while the game enters the later quarters or while the movie enters its second hour or something to give you some added fuel while your latest videogame marathon drones on for another hour or more. Just something to munch while not doing much or even, nothing at all.It’s true that not a lot of snacks are all that healthy, but hey, sometimes you need to kick back and relax a little, right? Right.

Companies the world over have come to capitalize on the ever growing snack food craze. Again, they may not be the most healthy snacks on the planet. but darn if they’re not good. I’ll be the first to admit that one of my all time favorite munchies any time of day has to be a bowl of Tostitos accompanied by a container of salsa. To me, that’s snack food any time of day. But, sometimes I like to get creative and make some dips of my own. A personal favorite is ketchup, mayo, ranch, Parmesan cheese, soy sauce and hot sauce. It’s the kind of dip that goes great on chips, veggies or even spread out on a chicken sandwich.

Now, I know what some of you are thinking. Snacks? Chips? This isn’t what I expected from a culinary school student! My response? Hey, I’m only human! I like snacks too! But, if you had to twist my are for a snack worthy of culinary school status, then I’ll give you one!

Simply grate some fresh Parmesan Cheese onto a silicone baking mat and toast them in a 350 – 375 degree oven for about 10 minutes, or until the cheese has melted and formed a nice cheese crisp. These are delicious! Trust me!

If you have any neat snack ideas, feel free to post them as a response! I’ll think of more snack time recipes and post them up for you to enjoy!

Author: NJ_Chef

A graduate of the Culinary Institute of America and aspiring food-writer. 28-year old chef, blogger, eSports fan, gamer, jack-of-all-trades and master of none.

One thought on “Food Bites: Snack Time

  1. First!

    I’m saying that because my life is a void lol. Nice post. Snacks are the bomb 🙂

    Like