Thoughts For Food

Insights into the Mind of a Culinary School Student

Food Bites: A Salute to Pizza


Pizza is not only my favorite food ever, but it also has to be the most versatile food creations I have ever seen. It’s portable, it’s easy to make and most of all, it’s delicious!

Now, granted, I have never made pizza dough from scratch, although I do want to some day soon (it looks fun). I will say this, store-bought pizza crusts are just as good to use, if you store them correctly. Just keep them in a cool, dry place. If you want longer storage options, the freezer is your best bet. Now, even with completely frozen pre-made pizza dough, you can still send it straight to the oven and cook with it. the end result will remain the same.

Now, as far as toppings and sauce are concerned, the sky is the limit. The traditional tomato sauce, cheese, pepperoni is nice, but you can go WAY beyond that. For example:

  • White sauce, roast chicken and mozzarella
  • BBQ sauce, grilled chicken, bacon and cheddar
  • Marinara sauce, and 6 different cheeses
  • Tomato sauce, sauteed veggies and Parmesan cheese
  • Leftover pasta and lots of cheese
  • Tomato sauce, pepperoni, Italian sausage, sauteed garlic and provolone cheese

And before you all ask, YES, I did make all these pizzas myself. Personally, they’re all great on thin crust pizza, but you can do whatever you want, to be honest. Now as the week goes on, I’ll post up a recipe, one per day on the 6 that I just mentioned. Think of it as Pizza Week here on Thoughts for Food. That’s all for now! Look for the first recipe to be posted up here tomorrow!

Oh, and one last thing, follow me on Twitter if you want to know when new entries are up! http://twitter.com/NJ_Chef

Author: NJ_Chef

A graduate of the Culinary Institute of America and aspiring food-writer. 28-year old chef, blogger, eSports fan, gamer, jack-of-all-trades and master of none.

Comments are closed.